Like us on Facebook Follow us on Twitter Follow us on Instagram ACS Podcasts Contact details Email us
Skip to main content


Shopkind Supporters

What is ShopKind

#ShopKind is a retail industry campaign, co-ordinated by ACS (the Association of Convenience Stores) on behalf of the UK Home Office, that is responding to the growing problem of abuse and violence toward shopworkers. Our aims are simple:

• Encourage kind behaviour in shops.

• Acknowledge the essential role of shopworkers in our communities.

• Raise awareness about scale and impact of abuse and violence towards shopworkers.

What are ShopKind Champions?

ShopKind Champions are key supporters of the ShopKind Campaign. Being a ShopKind Champion involves committing to spread the ShopKind message on social media, in their business and across their network. Checkout the Shopkind Champion Pack here to see if you could be a ShopKind Champion. Please contact [email protected] if you would like to become a ShopKind Champion.

Who are the ShopKind Champions?


Andrew Goodacre – CEO, Bira

Graham Bell – CEO, B&Q

Joanne Gates BEM – Store Manager, Co-op

Matt Pratley – Colleague Safety and Wellbeing Manager, Co-op

Claire Saunders BEM – Store Manager, Co-op

Nigel Sutliffe – Security Manager, Greggs

Tony Dods – Managing Director, Heron Foods

Paul Cheema – Director, Malcom’s Store

Helen Shaddick – Retail Administrator, North Devon Hospice

Neil Cadden – Head of Profit Protection, Pets at Home

Theo Paphitis – Chairman, Boux Avenue, Robert Dyas and Ryman

Nick Green – Retail Communications Co-ordinator, Spar

Sarah Dixon – Shrink and Security Partner, Tesco

Tracy Orton – Shrink and Security Partner, Tesco

Mikey Johnson – Area Loss Prevention Manager (South England), The Range

Trudy Davies - Owner, The Store Cupboard

Sunita Aggarwal - Owner, SPAR Wigston

Mark Foulds - Security Manager, Lincolnshire Co-operative 

Ashley Mann, Security Awareness Manager, Post Office

Simon Phillips, Head of Branch & Local Marketing, Post Office

Rachel Carter, Festival Place Business Performance Manager

Trade Bodies

James Lowman – Chief Executive, Association of Convenience Stores

Helen Dickinson – CEO, British Retail Consortium


Rt Hon. Esther McVey MP – MP for Tatton


Rt Hon. Kit Malthouse MP – Minister of State for Crime and Policing

Paul Scully MP - Minister for Small Business, Consumers and Labour Markets and Minister for London

Police and Crime Commissioners

David Sidwick – Dorset Police and Crime Commissioner

Marc Jones – Lincolnshire Police and Crime Commissioner

Andy Dunbobbin – North Wales Police and Crime Commissioner

Katy Bourne OBE – Sussex Police and Crime Commissioner

Rupert Matthews - Leicester, Leicestershire and Rutland Police and Crime Commissioner

Dafydd Llywelyn - Dyfed-Powys Police and Crime Commissioner


Katie Powell – Account Manager, Crimestoppers

Hannah Wadey – Chief Executive, Business Crime Reduction Partnership

Emily Gibbon – Manager, Gloucester BID

Steve Lindsay OBE – Manager, Gloucester City Safe

Lauren Dowdle – Security and Business Resilience Manager, South Westminster BID

David Wilson – Partnerships Manager, National Association of Business Crime Partnerships

Rebecca Ferguson - Events and Marketing Specialist, National Business Crime Solution

Patrick Holdaway, Superintendent, National Business Crime Centre

Jodie Connolly, Education and Development Officer, Safety Centre (Hazard Alley)

#ShopKind campaign materials, including posters to display in store, can be found here:

ACS is a member of the National Retail Crime Steering Group which meets regularly. We will continue to promote the message of ShopKind at all levels of Government and to all stakeholders. If you’d like to get in touch regarding ShopKind, please contact [email protected].