Retail Sector Council Launched

The Department for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy has launched a new Retail Sector Council to address challenges faced by the retail industry. The group, made up of senior leaders from the industry, will be co-chaired by retail minister Andrew Griffiths MP and Richard Pennycook, chair of Fenwick and the British Retail Consortium, and former CEO at the Co-op.

ACS chief executive James Lowman will sit on the Retail Sector Council, and he welcomed its formation, commenting: "The retail industry is at the heart of the profound social, political and economic changes the UK is undergoing, and we need this forum to discuss these issues.  I am delighted to have been asked to join this Council because it is important that small businesses and local shops, which are vital parts of UK retailing, play their part in developing future plans for the industry."

The full Retail Sector Council membership is:

·        Andrew Griffiths, Parliamentary Under Secretary of State, Minister for Small Business, Consumers and Corporate Responsibility, Co-Chair, Retail Council

·        Richard Pennycook, Co-Chair, Retail Council Chairman of Fenwick, The Hut Group and Howden Joinery Group and previously CEO of the Co-operative Group. Richard is also Chair of the British Retail Consortium and lead non-executive board member of the Department for Education.

·        Doug Gurr, UK Country Manager, Amazon

·        Sir Charlie Mayfield, Chair, John Lewis

·        Elizabeth Fagan, Senior Vice President, Managing Director Boots UK & ROI

·        Nick Beighton, CEO, ASOS

·        Ursula Lidbetter, CEO, Lincolnshire Cooperative

·        John Hannett, General Secretary, Union of Shop, Distributive and Allied Workers

·        Diane Savory, Chair, GFirst LEP

·        Victoria Robertshaw, CEO, Keelham Farm Shop

·        Helen Dickinson, CEO, British Retail Consortium

·        James Lowman, CEO, Association of Convenience Stores


This entry was posted by Chloe on Wed, 07/03/2018 - 10:34